Hide menu

The Division of Optimization at Linköping University

The Division of Optimization at the Department of Mathematics at Linköping University was founded in 1971, with Sven Erlander as the first professor. The establishment of a chair in optimization at Linköping University was closely linked to the creation of the Industrial Engineering and Management programme (Industriell ekonomi) at the technical faculty in 1969. This programme was the first of its kind in Sweden and has an emphasis on quantitative tools for industrial management, which makes the subject of optimization a cornerstone of the programme syllabus.

The volume of our undergraduate and graduate teaching in optimization is the largest among the Swedish universities. Today we offer about a dozen courses to the engineering and mathematics programmes at The Institute of Technology within Linköping University. These range from courses covering basic topics in optimization modelling, linear programming, nonlinear programming, discrete optimization, network optimization and dynamic programming, to advanced courses in decomposition methods and nonlinear programming, and project courses. Our courses include roughly 800 students every year. We also supervise and examine some bachelor's and master's thesis projects every year.

Over the years, the research topics within the group have varied considerably. Areas of applications include traffic planning, transportation and routing, optimal design, forestry, railway, road maintenance, telecommunications, finance, production planning, staff scheduling, and radiation therapy. Within basic research, we have a long and strong tradition in decomposition methods for large-scale optimization, such as Dantzig-Wolfe decomposition and column generation, Benders decomposition, and Lagrangian relaxation and subgradient optimization.

The first doctoral degrees were awarded to Siv Schéele in 1977, Kurt Jörnsten in 1980, and Åsa Hallefjord in 1984. To date, 43 doctoral degrees have been awarded. Out of these doctors, 17 have later been appointed associate professors (docent), and out of these, ten have also become full professors. Out of these, five are today active at other universities.

The Division of Optimization currently consists of two full professors (Kaj Holmberg and Torbjörn Larsson), two associate professors (Oleg Burdakov and Elina Rönnberg), one assistant professor (Nils-Hassan Quttineh), and a few doctoral students.

Earlier members of the division include professors Karen Aardal, Sven Erlander, Maud Göthe-Lundgren, Kurt Jörnsten, Per Olov Lindberg, Jan Lundgren, Athanasios (Sakis) Migdalas, Subhash C. Narula, Michael Patriksson, Mikael Rönnqvist, Peter Värbrand and Di Yuan.

Four prominent optimization researchers have been awarded honorary doctor's degrees at the Institute of Technology at Linköping University: George B. Dantzig (1975), Thomas L. Magnanti (1995), Huang Tuy (1995), and Michael Florian (2000).

Two spin-off companies originate from the group: Optimal Solutions, which was founded by Mikael Rönnqvist and Patrik Eveborn in 1999, and Schemagi, founded by Elina Rönnberg and Torbjörn Larsson in 2010.

Page responsible: Torbjörn Larsson
Last updated: 2019-11-29